Pet insurance pre-approval: when to ask before treatment
Pet insurance pre-approval: Embrace, Petplan and Trupanion say it is not required. Some quote three to five business days; all ask for an estimate and history.

The surgeon’s estimate runs to four figures. You have insurance, you think the condition is covered, and you would like to know before the operation rather than six weeks after. That is what pre-approval is for.
Pet insurance pre-approval, also called pre-authorisation or pre-certification, is a written request to your insurer to confirm how much of a planned treatment it will cover, sent before the treatment happens. Embrace, Petplan and Trupanion each say it is not required. Some insurers quote three to five business days. The request needs the clinic’s estimate and the pet’s medical history. It is worth making for a planned procedure you could not comfortably pay for yourself if the answer were no. It is not a tool for emergencies, and an approval is not a blank cheque.
Is pre-approval required, or optional?
Not required, and three insurers say so in plain terms. Petplan’s US pre-authorisation form states that “pre-authorization is not needed for your pet to be treated” and describes the service as being for owners “seeking increased financial peace of mind prior to expensive veterinary procedures”. Trupanion’s guide to direct payment says no pre-authorisation is required, but that a vet “can submit a pre-approval request to Trupanion if specific circumstances call for it”. Pets Plus Us, a Canadian insurer, prints on its pre-approval form: “Please do not withhold or delay treatment while you wait to hear from us and always be sure to follow the advice of your vet.”
So the decision is yours, and it turns on two questions: how much is the estimate, and how sure are you that the condition is covered? Pre-approval is more useful for cruciate surgery on a dog whose records mention a limp a year ago than for a dental cleaning under a wellness plan.
Which insurers offer it, and how long does it take?
Insurers commonly ask for the clinic’s estimate and the medical records. The table shows their forms and published turnaround times.
| Insurer | What they call it | Stated turnaround | What they ask for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Embrace (US) | Pre-certification | “5 business days or less” | Form from the MyEmbrace account, completed and stamped by the clinic, with the detailed estimate if available; for a first claim, a year of doctor’s notes from every vet |
| Pets Plus Us (Canada) | Pre-approval request | “within 3 business days” | The form, all estimates or treatment plans, and the complete medical records relating to the request; meant for estimates of about $1,000 or more |
| Trupanion (US and Canada) | Pre-approval | Not stated | Submitted by the clinic |
| Petplan UK | Pre-authorisation | Not stated | Used to confirm cover and, Petplan says, to improve the chance of a vet accepting direct payment |
| Pumpkin (US), in its own guide | Pre-approval | “up to five business days” | General guidance from its article: a downloaded form, the clinic’s treatment costs and the medical history |
Check your own policy documents first: the names, forms and timings above are what each company published when we read them, and insurers change their process. If your insurer is not listed, search its help centre for “pre-approval” and “pre-authorisation” together, since the same service goes by both names.
What should the request include?
The clinic’s estimate, the records that explain it, and the insurer’s form, sent once. Pets Plus Us is specific about why: forms “that are incomplete or missing legible estimates, treatment plans or medical records may delay reimbursement”, and the form says that sending the same request by two methods also delays it.
The estimate is the part only the clinic can supply, and it is worth asking for a complete one. The RCVS tells UK vets an estimate should cover “all likely charges in the time period covered, including ancillary or associated charges, such as those for medicines/anaesthetics, diagnostic tests, pre- or post-operative care, follow up or routine visits”; the College of Veterinarians of Ontario advises its members to give a written estimate with a range and to warn that costs can expand during a procedure. An estimate that lists the surgery alone leaves every other charge out of the request.

First-time claimants may need to send more records than they expect. Embrace’s note that a first pre-certification needs the previous year’s notes “from every veterinarian your pet has been to over this time period, even for wellness visits” sets out what that insurer wants so it can check for a pre-existing condition. Our guide to what pet insurance checks in the vet records explains what they are looking for; getting a copy of the record from the clinic is the step before this one.
When is it worth the wait?
For costly planned care where coverage is uncertain. Pets Plus Us refers to estimates “typically with a minimum cost of $1000”, and Embrace mentions bills “likely to be over $1,000”. Embrace also names certainty: you want to know “exactly how much you will get back” before you choose between options.
Uncertain coverage is the point. If the records mention an earlier problem in the same part of the body, the insurer may treat the new one as a continuation, and pre-approval can reveal that before the surgery rather than when you claim. If the condition is new and clearly covered, the wait buys less. For an unpaid bill, see what a clinic can and cannot do about it.
The wait also rules out emergencies. Three to five business days is longer than a blocked bladder or a fracture can wait, so do not hold urgent treatment for a pre-approval. Pumpkin’s guide says as much: contact the insurer’s helpline, chat or urgent email, because “for standard applications, approval can take up to five business days”. The UK guidance for vets also calls for early coverage checks: the RCVS tells practices to advise insured clients “to contact their insurers to verify their cover at the earliest opportunity”.
What does an approval actually promise?
Coverage for the plan as submitted, on the policy as it stands. The final reimbursement can still differ, for three reasons. The treatment can change during the procedure, which is why an estimate may warn about additional charges. The final records can show something the estimate did not, such as a note that dates the condition before the policy started. And the policy’s own limits still apply: Pumpkin’s guide notes that a pet still in a waiting period or past its annual benefit limit will not be covered.
So treat the approval letter as one more document in the claim. Keep it with the estimate, the consent form and the final itemised invoice, and when you submit, check the invoice against the estimate line by line, as explained in checking an itemized vet bill. If the reimbursement differs from the approval, compare the two documents before deciding whether an appeal is worth making.
Where Dana fits
Pre-approval paperwork may be scattered across a clinic portal, an insurer’s form and whichever caregiver took the pet in. Dana keeps the estimate, the records you downloaded and the approval letter together in the pet’s health records and Records Vault, so the person submitting the claim has the same documents as the person who was at the appointment. Records Vault is part of Dana Pro. See the pet insurance claim checklist for the claim and the pet health records guide for the rest of the record.
Questions people ask
Is pre-approval required before my pet can be treated?
No. Embrace, Petplan and Trupanion each say it is not required, and Pets Plus Us tells members not to delay treatment while waiting. It is a way to learn what the policy will pay before you commit to a plan, not a condition of care.
How long does pet insurance pre-approval take?
Pets Plus Us aims for three business days, Embrace says five or fewer, and Pumpkin's guide says up to five. Do not delay emergency treatment while waiting; contact the insurer directly with an urgent coverage question.
What do I need to send with the request?
The clinic's written estimate or treatment plan, the pet's relevant medical records, and the insurer's own form, completed as that insurer requires. For a first claim, Embrace also asks for a year of notes from every vet the pet has seen.
Does pre-approval guarantee payment?
No. It confirms coverage for the plan as submitted. If the treatment changes, the bill rises past the estimate, or the final records show a pre-existing condition, the reimbursement can still differ. Keep the approval letter with the invoice when you claim.

